2021 Honorees

Ohio State Mansfield presents 2021 honors

This event honors the efforts and accomplishments of graduates who have made significant contributions to their professions and communities. Honorees are active advocate of the university and regarded as a community leader with a record of sustained professional recognition and involvement in the community. Alumni are permanently recognized in the Scarlet and Gray Café, Ovalwood Hall at Ohio State Mansfield.

Distinguished alumni are:

Jeremy Secrist
A first-generation college student, he earned his degree in English at Ohio State Mansfield. Upon graduation, he took what he thought would be a one-year position as a high school teacher and coach. Upon realizing his calling, Jeremy went on to earn a master’s degree as his career progressed from teacher to assistant principal, assistant athletic director, principal, assistant superintendent, and most recently Superintendent of Lexington Schools.

Marcella Smith
Marcella Smith is the Chief Administrative Officer at Ohio Mutual Insurance Group. Smith has held progressively senior Human Resources at companies in both Columbus and the Mansfield region. She earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Education from The Ohio State University, followed by an MBA from Ashland. Most recently she joined the board of Fisher College of Business Center for Operational Excellence.

Kellyanne Christiansen
She was a single mother of two children as she started college, graduating with her bachelor’s several years later while diligently balancing parenting, career, and education. Upon graduation, she was named head of Human Resources of Richland County, a newly created role to better serve the public offices of Richland County

Emerging Alumni is:

Brooke Miller
While raising a family and pursuing a career in banking, Brooke completed her degree in English at the Mansfield campus in 2019. She serves the community in multiple ways: Harmony House, the Doug Castle Legacy Project, Richland Young Professionals, Leader Richland, and in 2022, invited to serve as Guest Servant Leader on the Jim Tressel Institute for Leadership and Teamwork at Youngstown State University.