Tuition, room and board
Estimated, 2017-18 academic year
An academic year is two semesters of full-time enrollment.
|Billed expenses (per academic year)||Ohio resident||Nonresident|
(includes instructional and general fees)
|University housing**||$5,542 to $7,684||$5,542 to $7,684|
|Dining Plan Options
|Required if living in university housing (Molyet Village Apartments)
*Includes out-of-state surcharge.
**In the event that the university owned housing reaches capacity, we are fortunate to have private off-campus student housing adjacent to campus. Learn more at mansfield.osu.edu/future-students/housing.
- Tuition and fees may vary by college and academic program. In addition, students should anticipate expenses such as books, supplies, travel, recreation and personal items. These expenses are considered when determining financial aid awards. Anticipate an increase in expenses from year to year.
- Students enrolled at least half-time are automatically enrolled in the Student Health Benefits Plan. Visit Student Health Insurance for details on how to select or waive this coverage.
The university reserves the right to assess fees for special services and programs applicable to students. Part-time fees are on a sliding scale. Read the Fees Explanation for a breakdown of potential fees. Mansfield campus course fees
The initial tuition, fee and university residences and dining services payment deadline is usually seven days before classes begin. However, Ohio State's Tuition Option Payment Plan (TOPP) allows students and their families to divide the cost of tuition, housing, and fees into installment payments for autumn and spring semesters. For more information visit busfin.osu.edu/bursar.
Selective Service registration
Federal law requires male students ages 18 through 25 to be registered with the Selective Service System, unless they are on active duty with the armed forces of the United States, non-U.S. citizens on a student visa, or otherwise legally excluded. Ohio residents who are not registered are required by Ohio law to pay the nonresident surcharge. Register with Selective Service within 30 days of your 18th birthday at sss.gov or any U.S. post office.
If you are not an Ohio resident and want to receive the state of Ohio subsidy for tuition purposes (that is, pay in-state tuition), you must show that you meet the qualifications set by the Ohio Department of Higher Education. Visit the University Registrar's website for information about establishing Ohio residency.